Archive for the ‘San Jose Sharks’ Category

NHL Playoffs: Top Five Candidates For MVP Thus Far

May 5th, 2010 No Comments

Admittedly, writing on an article on the NHL Playoff MVP is a tad premature. That said, given all the quality showings thus far leads me to believe that for the first time in a long while there will be plenty of competition for the coveted Conn Smythe Award. Originally award in the 1964-65 season, we have seen a fair share of hockey legends take home the Conn Smythe Trophy. Legendary Montreal Canadiens forward Jean Beliveau took home the coveted prize in 1964-65—later joined by 21 Forwards over the years including, but limited to, Guy Lafleur, Bryan Trottier, Mike Bossy, Mark Messier, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Steve Yzerman and, most recently, Evgeni Malkin in 2008-09. A total of nine defensemen have had their name engraved on the Conn Smythe Trophy, including, but not limited to, Serge Savard, Bobby Orr, Brian Leetch,

Page 5 of 5«12345